Auckland HarbourKevin Stark Memorial Award

The Kevin Stark Memorial Award was established in 1993 in honour and memory of the Late Professor Kevin Stark of James Cook University whose untimely death in 1989 ended a most remarkable career which, amongst many other achievements, greatly contributed to the advancement of coastal and ocean engineering within Australia.

The National Committee on Coastal and Ocean Engineering (NCCOE) established the award to foster and encourage excellence in coastal and ocean engineering across the range of professional practice, research and teaching. Any author who has had accepted and subsequently published a paper at this Coasts and Ports Conference is eligible for the Award. There is no formal entry process, all papers accepted for the conference will be assessed against the listed criterion by a panel of reviewers and oral presentations assessed by a subcommittee of the NCCOE.

The NCCOE reserves the right not to make the Award in the event that no suitable candidate is available.

The award recognises excellence in coastal and ocean engineering. The criteria for selection include the following considerations:

The Award is in the form of a bronze Medal which will be engraved in personal recognition of the chosen author's attainment and is presented personally by the Chairperson of the NCCOE at the Conference. In the event of multiple joint authors, individual Medals may be awarded. An Honour Roll of past award recipients will be published in the conference proceedings and on the NCCOE website. Additionally, the author will be invited to submit the chosen conference publication for consideration by the editorial board of Engineers Australia, Civil Engineering Transactions Journal.

Kevin Stark Memorial Award Details

PIANC Young Authors Award

The PIANC Young Authors Award has traditionally been awarded at the Coasts and Ports Conferences since 1988. The Conference in Sydney Auckland continues this tradition. PIANC Australia is the Australian Region of PIANC. PIANC is the International Navigation Association. Further information of PIANC can be obtained by visiting or the Australian PIANC Website on

The Conference will award the Young Author's award consisting of free membership of PIANC Australia for 2 years.

Auckland HarbourThe winning paper will be submitted for publication in the PIANC Bulletin. The winning paper can also be entered in the PIANC International De Paepe - Willems Award.

Eligibility criteria are as follows:

  1. The author should be no more than 35 years old at the date of the Conference
  2. The author should be a citizen of either Australia or New Zealand
  3. The author should be prepared to present the paper at the Conference
  4. The paper should be directly related to Ports and Harbours section
  5. The theme of the paper should be well developed for application
  6. The paper should preferably be by a single author. Where there is more than one author, the youngest will receive the award.
  7. The author/s, when submitting their paper, should indicate that they would like to be considered for the award.

D.N. Foster Award

In recognition of Doug Foster's contribution to Australian coastal engineering, the National Committee on Coastal & Ocean Engineering created the Doug N. Foster Memorial Fellowship Fund in September 2001.

The Fellowship Fund is to encourage engineering students to pursue career opportunities in coastal and/or ocean engineering. Up to four Awards will be offered to students who are in final year of first engineering degree (Australian Citizens or permanent residents, and enrolled at an Australian University) to assist attendance to the Coasts & Ports Conference. The Coasts & Ports Conference is an amalgamation of the Australasian Coastal and Ocean Engineering Conference and the Australasian Port and Harbour Conference.

Each student winning an Award will receive a certificate which is conferred by the Engineers Australia, free registration and up to $1000 worth of travel and accommodation at the winners’ discretion, to attend the Coasts & Ports Conference.

Students applying for the award are invited to submit a single A4 page outlining why they should receive the fellowship to develop their interests in Coastal &/or Ocean Engineering. The applications are to be accompanied by a copy of academic record and a reference in support of the application.

Further information on the award and past winners is available on the NCCOE website.

Full Application Details including nomination guidelines and nomination forms will be made available in late 2014

Engineers Australia logo IPENZ logo NZCS logo PIANC logo